Cachar Sporting Club's Historic Boat Race Marks 77th Independence Day with Grandeur

Lakhipuronline Digital Desk :In a tradition that has stood the test of time, the Cachar Sporting Club's annual boat race on the Barak River continues to captivate the masses, echoing the spirit of India's independence day celebrations. Commencing on August 15, 1947, this iconic boat race has become a timeless spectacle that draws throngs of eager spectators to the riverbanks.
The event, meticulously organized by the Cachar Sporting Club, which was established in 1936, unfolded on the glistening waters of the Barak River in three distinct categories – large boats accommodating over 45 participants, medium-sized vessels with 35 rowers, and smaller boats that held a crew of 20. As the sun cast its golden hue upon the river's surface, thousands of onlookers gathered along the riverbanks to witness the exhilarating spectacle.

Anticipating the safety of participants and spectators alike, the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) and the State Disaster Response Force (SDRF) teams were strategically deployed to ensure swift response to any unforeseen incidents. The collective efforts of these teams helped to maintain a secure environment throughout the event.

Gracing the occasion were Assam's Transport, Excise, and Fisheries Minister, Parimal Suklabaidya, along with Cachar's Deputy Commissioner, Rohan Kumar Jha, and Superintendent of Police, Numal Mahatta. They commended the Cachar Sporting Club for its steadfast commitment to organizing this historic tournament, a tradition that has persevered since the inception of India's independence.

The competition was fierce as boats sliced through the water with determination, each crew vying for victory. In recognition of their exceptional performance, winners of the large boat category were awarded a gleaming trophy and a cash prize of one lakh rupees. The second and third place contenders in this category received a generous reward of fifty thousand and twenty-five thousand rupees, respectively.

Medium-sized boats were not to be outdone, as winners secured a cash prize of forty thousand rupees, with the second and third place participants earning twenty-five thousand and fifteen thousand rupees, respectively. In the small boat category, the triumphant victors were presented with a prize of ten thousand rupees, while the second and third place holders received seven thousand five hundred and five thousand rupees, respectively.

Speaking at the event, Minister Parimal Suklabaidya and DC Cachar, Rohan Kumar Jha, lauded the unwavering dedication of the Cachar Sporting Club in upholding this cherished tradition. As the sun set on another remarkable chapter of the boat race's legacy, the enduring spirit of unity, competition, and celebration prevailed, leaving an indelible mark on the hearts of all who attended.

Post a Comment