RK Sanahanbi Chanu and Jiten Oinamba get Sahitya Akademi's awards

Six writers from the Northeast were nominated for the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar, 2019, and Bal Sahitya Puraskar, 2019, on Friday for their contribution to the field of children’s literature, short stories, play and poetry.
Assamese writer Swamim Nasrin, Bodo author Lakhminath Brahma and Manipuri writer RK Sanahanbi Chanu have been chosen for the Bal Sahitya Puraskar, 2019.
While Nasrin won the award for his collection of stories Mili Amia Aru Ekhon Nadi, Brahma was selected for the award for the folk tales Solobatha Khwanasong De. Manipuri writer RK Sanahanbi Chanu was nominated for the award for his play Thawaishinggi Thawai.
The Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puruskar, 2019, went to Assamese upcoming story writer Sanjib Pol Deka for his work Ei Pine Ki Ase.
Bodo poet Rujab Muchahary also won the award for his book on poetry titled, Sansri Arw Mwndangthini Mwkhang.
Manipuri poet Jiten Oinamba won the prestigious award for his collection of poetry, Canvasta Tarakpa Pirangna.
The awards, to be given later this year, comprise caskets with engraved plaques and cheques of Rs 50,000.

Post a Comment