Draft electoral rolls published across State

SILCHAR, Oct 14 - The Cachar District Election Office today released the draft electoral rolls for the seven Assembly constituencies of Cachar district for 2017. The draft rolls were released in the presence of Cachar Deputy Commissioner S Vishwanathan and representatives of various political parties in a meeting held at the conference hall of the Zilla Parishad. The draft electoral rolls are published corresponding to the special summary revision of photo e-rolls for 2017.

As per the rolls, the district has 10,93,888 electors out of whom 5,71,575 are male and 5,22,313 are female. There are as many as 5,540 D-voters in the district with the highest 1,475 from the Katigorah constituency.

Jitu Kumar Das, District Election Officer, said that the final electoral rolls would be published on January 20 next year. “The deadline for settling claims and objections regarding the names in the electoral rolls is November 15. New voters who will attain the legitimate age for voting on January 1, 2017 can submit applications by filling up Form 6. Also, the names of deceased persons can be deleted from the list through Form 7. Form 8 can be used to submit photographs in 2.5x2 cm size as specified by the Election Commission of India. Form 8A can be used by the voters to change their residential location within the district,” Das added. He said that a software is being used by the district election office to detect duplication of voters. The duplicate names will be subsequently deleted from the voters list.

DC Vishwanathan said that the polling officials engaged in the collection of details for data enumeration must take note of the previous errors so that error-free electoral rolls could be prepared.

Earlier, members of political parties and leading citizens of the district aired their grievances against the loopholes in the process of enumeration and collection of data from voters by Block Level Officers (BLOs). Shashankha Shekhar Dhar, BJP representative in the meeting, pointed out the lapses in duty on the part of the BLOs. He alleged that the majority of the BLOs did not undergo any training to collect data from voters, which is why the voters list has a number of errors.

Seema Das, a BLO, clarified that the BLOs alone should not be blamed for the errors in the voters list. There are occasions when operators also enter wrong data. “Moreover, the forms, specially 6 and 8, which we submit are not entered in the list. Voter ID cards have many spelling errors for which the BLOs face criticism. Instead of criticism, there must be cooperation from the people and the administration for preparing error-free electoral rolls,” she added.

ANN Service from Golakganj adds: As per the directive of the Election Commission of India, the process of special amendment of the voters rolls has begun in Dhubri district. In this regard, the District Election Officer, Bistirna Baruah, informed that on Friday, the draft electoral rolls of the three Legislative constituencies under the Dhubri subdivision were published as per the special amendment process. Complaints or objections, if any, regarding the draft electoral rolls may be filled on or before November 14, sources said. Special camps will be set up on October 23 and November 13 to take up the registered complaints with the booth level agents of different political parties.

On December 15, after the settlement of all the complaints and objections, the final voter rolls will be published on January 20, 2017.

Barpeta Correspondent adds: The summary revision of the electoral rolls of all the six Assembly constituencies under the Barpeta Election District with January 1, 2017 as the base got under way on Friday. Barpeta Deputy Commissioner Thaneswar Malakar formally released the draft electoral rolls in a meeting at the conference room of his office this morning.

The meeting was attended by officials associated with the revision and representatives of political parties.

As per the schedule, claims and objections regarding the electoral rolls will be accepted up to November 15. The draft will be examined and various aspects regarding the rolls will be explained to the public in meetings in local bodies and gram sabhas between October 18 to November 2. Special campaigns for the disposal of the objections will be initiated from October 23 to November 13 in association with the booth-level representatives of the political parties. Claims and objections will be disposed of within December 15. The final rolls will be published on January 20 next year.

As per the draft rolls published on Friday, the Barpeta Election District has 9,92,489 voters with 5,07,849 male and 4,64,499 female electors. Out of them, 20,141 are D-voters and excluding them, there are 9,72,348 voters. Sorbhog tops the list with a total of 1,97,692, followed by Barpeta with 1,79,161 voters. The number of voters in the draft rolls for Mania, Baghbar, Sarukshetri and Chenga Assembly constituencies are 1,79,107, 1,39,169, 1,75,756, and 1,21,604 respectively.

ANN Service from Sonari adds: The draft voters list of No. 105 Mahmora and No. 106 Sonari LACs were released at the public auditorium in Sonari on Friday. At present, there are 62,529 male and 57,454 female voters in Mahmora LAC, while 79,382 male and 72,332 female voters are in the Sonari LAC. There is one D-voter in the Mahmora LAC.

The draft voters list will be available at the Deputy Commissioner’s office at Sonari, Revenue Circle Officers’ offices at Mahmora, Sonari and Sapekhati, Sonari Municipality and Moran Town Committee offices, all development blocks, gaon panchayats, post offices and police stations of Charaideo district.

The final voters list on the basis of January 1, 2017 will be published on January 20, 2017. Claims and objections could be filed within November 15, which will be disposed of on December 15.

On the eve of the publication of voters list, Monimala Phukon Borthakur, Deputy Commissioner, Charaideo, addressed a press meet at the DC’s conference hall on Thursday. Abul Kalam, Election Officer, Charaideo, gave a briefing on the ongoing process of the correction of voters list as per the guidelines of the Election Commission of India. Samiron Bora, ADC, and Mamoon Borkatoky, SDIPRO, were also present on the occasion. (Source: SentinelAssam)

Post a Comment