Left combine submits memorandum to ADC

Silchar, July 7: The left front consisting of CPI, CPI (M), SUCI (C), CPI (ML) Liberation and All India Forward Block submitted a memorandum to Deputy Commissioner S Vishwanathan, IAS today in protest against the unprovoked lathi-charge resorted to by the police on the activists who were holding a peaceful protest rally yesterday before the office of the Deputy Commissioner.
The left front took part in a statewide civil disobedience agitation yesterday on many burning issues which include price rise of essential commodities, proper implementation of PDS, the contentious land acquisition ordinance and other anti people policies of the Central and the State Government.
The memorandum stated that previously a number of times the left front had organized protest rallies and processions democratically. But, such barbaric treatments was never meted out to them. The situation would have become normal after the arrest of the agitators. But this time the magistrate unnecessarily delayed the arrest order which led to chaos in the area. Though the District Magistrate, S Viswanathan, and Additional Superintendent of Police, Suhasini Shankaran, have denied issuing any orders of lathi-charge, yet the police without any provocation conducted a lathi-charge upon the agitators assembled before the office in which some of them including women and children were injured, some seriously. It is to be noted that not a single woman police personnel was present on the spot during the protest demonstration.
The memorandum also alleged that the left front activists who were temporarily arrested by the police were denied even basic amenities like food and water by the administration. The left front members urged upon the Deputy Commissioner to initiate a thorough enquiry into the matter.
M K Das, Additional Deputy Commissioner of Cachar whom a delegation of the left combined met today in his chamber expressed his regret at the unfortunate incident of lathi-charge and assured that such unprovoked baton charge or any unwanted interference in a peaceful and democratic agitation would never recur. He also said that an inquiry would also be initiated into the incident.
The memorandum was signed by Tapas Bhattacharjee, secretary, CPI (M), Nitish Dey, secretary, CPI, Shamdeo Kurmi, secretary, SUCI (C), Haidar Husain Choudhury, secretary, CPI (ML) Liberation, Mihir Nandi, secretary, All India Forward Block of Cachar district committee. (Source:SentinelAssam)

Post a Comment