Lakhipur municipal election: Cong – Independent candidates file nominations

SILCHAR, January 27: While Congress candidates and Independents have filed their nominations before the election officer T T Daulagupu today, BJP has decided to submit papers on Wednesday for the 10 member municipal board with the total voters of 8545. The elections for the Lakhipur sub–division board is slated for February 9. Though posters and banners are yet to be seen around the town, campaign by Congress and BJP in right earnest has begun. Both the national parties being the main contestants with no other opposition in the fray, it will be a well contested election.
The leaders of both the parties are claiming to beat one another and capture the board. It was Congress which was at the seat of power in the last election. It will be therefore interesting to watch if Congress, now under the leadership of Rajdeep Goala, MLA, son of Dinesh Prasad Goala, who unfortunately expired after holding the reign of power of the sub–division for long 7 terms starting from 1983. In fact, he remains the unbeaten MLA, next to Gautom Roy, who has been elected from Katlicherra for 6 consecutive terms. Besides the MLA seat of Lakhipur, the sub–divisional municipal board has been held by Congress.
Can Rajdeep Goala maintain the winning spree of his late father? This is the big question. In the last Assembly bi–election of 2014, Rajdeep Goala was the unanimous choice of Congress leadership and despite Manoj Pandey, an important functionary of the party, revolted against the decision and being denied nomination, he fought on AIUDF ticket. Eventually, Rajdeep Goala overcoming the rebellion had a keen contest with BJP candidate Sanjoy Thakur and won the seat comfortably.
Considered against this backdrop, Rajdeep Goala seems to be on comfortable pitch as of now. With his experiences as an MLA as well as rapport with the party leaders and workers and most importantly the confidence and trust of the higher echelons of the party along with his leadership quality, he has the skill and dexterity to chalk out the strategy to challenge the opposition on its home turf.
But, to undermine the growing strength of BJP and also the support behind it will be a miscalculation. There is no denial of the fact that the party under the dynamic and vibrant leadership of Narendra Modi, Prime Minister of the country, has given a new dimension and direction. The leaders and workers look confident to bag as many seats as possible to win back the board from Congress. With just a few days to go for the election, the ground remains slippery. Unless door to door contact and more intensive campaign are carried out, it will indeed be a tough challenge to beat Congress.
The Congress candidates led by Rajdeep Goala proceeded from the statue of Swami Vivekananda and came down to the Lakhipur sub–divisional office and submitted their nomination papers to the election officer T T Dolagupu. 5 Independent candidates also submitted their nomination papers today. BJP candidates will submit their papers on Wednesday. Congress candidates are Kishore Kanti Deb for ward no.1, Sushmita Dey for ward no.2, Nishitha Kr. Choudhury for ward no.3, Manna Ranjan Dey for ward no.4, Sangita Gurug for ward no.5, Rimi Paul for ward no.6, Bappi Roy for ward no.7, Mahamaya Das for ward no.8, Raseswari Singha for ward no.9 and Robindra Singha for ward no.10. Independents are Vivekananda Nath for ward no.3, Rothan Pui Hmar for ward no.6, Jemeis Lal Pui Hmar for ward no.5, Dipankar Roy for ward no.4 and Shibani Roy for ward no.1. (Source: SentinelAssam)

Post a Comment