Manipuri Diaspora conference concludes

SILCHAR, April 9: The first two day biennial conference of Manipuri Diaspora, Assam, concluded on Sunday at Lala, Hailakandi district. The activity report placed by the general secretary of the organization, Dr. M Santi Kumar Singha, was approved by the house. The assembly attended by delegates from all the districts of Assam and Northeastern states adopted several resolutions which among others demanded reservation of 3 seats for Manipuris in the proposed Member of Legislative Council, 1 seat in any MLA constituency of the state, nomination of a member from the community in Rajya Sabha, inclusion of Manipuri as MIL in the curriculum of APSC examination.
Besides, it was resolved to persuade the Government of Assam for speedy implementation of election process of Manipuri Development Council in coordination with Manipuri Diaspora. Area delimitation and other matters related to the Council should be brought within the ambit of discussion. Manipuri Diaspora was seriously concerned with the framing of a constitution for the Council that would ensure its fair and free functioning.
The conference at the same time dissolved the old body of Manipuri Diaspora and constituted a new one in its place after threadbare discussion. L Tezomoni Singha has been selected as new President while Dr. M Santi Kumar Singha was retained as its General Secretary.
A 42 member executive committee has representatives from all the 27 districts of Assam. The subject committee meeting was presided over by S Kanan Devi. After prolong discussion, Manipuri Diaspora North East India was also formed with P Sunamani Singha as its President and Th. Rajen Singha as Secretary General.
It was decided at the conference to organize an international Manipuri federation soon. The open session quite significantly was dedicated to Bidyapati Singha, the first Manipuri MLA of Assam. Dr. I Ibohalbi Singha, MLA from Manipur graced the function as Chief–Guest.
N Mahendro, economist, S Jayanti Devi, President of All Assam Manipuri Women Meira–Paibi Coordination Committee, S Pakachand Singha,president, Manipuri Sahitya Parishad, L Surendra Singha, president, AAMSU, Th Naresh, president AMSU, Manipur, Ch Babutan Singha, president, Thangal Marup, P Sunamani Singha graced the occasion as guests. L Manglembe Singha, chairman, reception committee, at the outset welcomed the delegates. The key–note address was delivered by Dr M Santi Kumar Singha. (Source: SentinelAssam)