Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize2010

AGARTALA, Aug 4: Four renowned writers of the Northeast will be awarded the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2010 for their outstanding literary works, an official said here on Thursday. The awards would be presented during a special function at Thrissur in Kerala on August 16, according to an official release of the Sahitya Akademi. The writers from the Northeast are Anupama Dutta Saikia (from Assam in Assamese language), Shyamal Bhattacharya (from Tripura in Bengalilanguage), L Birendra Kumar Sharma (from Manipur in Manipuri language) and Uthrisar Khungur Basumatary (from Assam in Bodo language). The prize carries an amount of Rs 50,000, an engraved copper plaque and a citation. (IANS)

Post a Comment