Meritorious Muslim students feted

IMPHAL, Jun 19: Simple gifts were presented to Muslim students who excelled in the recently held Class X and XII examinations as well as in theManipur Pre-Medical examination.
The felicitation programme was hosted today by Manipuri Muslims Online Forum at Muslim Girls Hostel, Hafiz Hatta in the presence of prominent Muslim citizens such as Manipur State Minorities Commission Chairperson A Halim Choudhury, Principal (Retd) of GP Women's College Laaljan Begum and Principal Secretary (Labour & Employment) AR Khan.
Among those honoured at the occasion included three Muslim students who secured high marks to finish in the top 25 position in the HSLC 2011 examination, two with similar achievement in the HSE 2011 exam and 13 who came out with flying colours in the PMT examination.
Addressing the gathering, Halim Choudhury said Muslim candidates excelling in the PMT examination is a positive sign of students from the minority community striding forward. Expressing that the achievement is a moment for every Muslim to be proud of, he also called upon the Muslim leaders and commonpublic to contribute their mite in producing meritorious students from the community in the future.
In her brief comment, Laaljan Begum, who is also a former Member of Manipur State Commission for Womensaid success of Muslim candidates in the said examinations testify concerted effort by the Muslim students, particularly the girl students.
She also advised the girl students to concentrate on their respective career choices rather than follow a charted trend.
Meanwhile, three candidates each from Yaiskul assembly constituency who excelled in the HSLC and HSE 2011 examinations were honoured with the presentation of cash prize, a dictionary each as well as certificates.
The toppers in each of the category were presented Rs 3000 followed by Rs 2000 and Rs 1000 for the second and third toppers respectively.
The felicitation programme organisedby G Khelchandra Memorial Trust, Wangkhei at Wangkhei Pujah Lampak with noted scholar and historian Padmashree RK Jhaljit Singhand IAS (Retd) Ch Birendra Singh as the chief guest and president respectively.

Post a Comment