Guv’s Award, RK Sanatombi awards distributed

IMPHAL, Sep 10: Governor’s Award and Rajkumari Sanatombi Awards 2010 were distributed in a glittering function held at Asha-Jina complex today.
Governor Gurbachan Jagat was the chief guest of the function organised by RK Sanatombi Devi Vidyalaya.
First Lady of Manipur, Kiran Jagat, Rajya Sabha MP Rishang Keishing and Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency MP Dr Thokchom Meinya were also present at the occasion as guests of honour.
Speaking at the occasion, Governor Gurbachan Jagat lauded the Vidyalaya for instituting the awards in order to encourage meritorious students of the institute and persons from different professions of the society.
Gurbachan Jagat said that education at college and higher secondary level is of utmost importance for a student’s life. It is the turning point of searching for a career, suited to his ability and aptitude.
Jagat said, “With increasing globalization and better communication and technology, the world is going to become a very competitive place and only those who are better equipped with specialized knowledge and skills with drive will be able to cope with it.”
The Governor said that the hidden human feelings, the common search for peace and cooperative living are far better and more important than publicised ambitions.
It is for the educational institutions to prepare youth by taming the base instincts of mankind, like anarchical ambition, spiritual blindness, recalcitran- ce, which are grave internal obstacles and the spirit to settle by authoritative decision of force, forgetting that justice is more important than arguments and the maintenance of peace by threats and horror is repugnant to the moral sense of mankind, he added.
MP Rishang Keishing while addressing the gathering said that the sense of competition must be instilled amongst the students in order to bring quality education.
Saying that the State is concentrating more on sports and culture only, the MP stressed on the need for all round development to join the global advancement.
Class XI student of the Vidyalaya, Thoungambi Loukrakpam has been feted with this year’s Governor’s Award. She received a cash award of Rs 15,000 along with a certificate.
Rajkumari Sanatombi Devi Awards 2010 were conferred to Nelson Salam, student of St Joseph’s School, Bhairodan Hindi Primary School Assistant Teacher Shilla Dutta, wrestler Laishram Ranjana of Nachou Mayai Leikai, fencer Elangbam Gita of Keishamthong Elangbam Leikai, athlete Sagolsem Premila Devi of Yairipok Kekru Mayai Leikai, weightlifter Kh Premila of Tera and Traffic Police Kamnang of Suangdoh village. Vidyalaya Faculty member Ningombam Nobo Singh was also awarded for winning two gold medals in the IXth Rajiv Gandhi Asian Arm Wrestling Championship held at Guwahati.
Abdul Haque Khan of Lilong Haoreibi Awang Leikai also got the award in the physically challenged category for winning first position in the 50 m freestyle and breast stroke competitions in the 10th National Paralympic Swimming Championship.
The awardees received a cash prize of Rs 5000 each with certificates. (The Sangai Express)

Post a Comment